Doing Good with Good OR - Student Paper Competition

2023 - Winner(s)

2023 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

Doing Good with Good OR - Student Paper Competition is held each year to identify and honor outstanding projects in the field of operations research and the management sciences conducted by a student or student group that have a significant societal impact.

Committee Co-Chairs

Amir Karimi
University of Texas at San Antonio
John Harris

Click here to view full committee list

The projects must have, or are likely to have, a significant societal impact, and operations research and management science methods and tools (broadly interpreted) must be central to the success of the projects described. "Societal impact" should be construed to mean an impact on individuals, communities and organizations that goes beyond that associated with a private-sector for-profit initiative. The projects might also strive to include innovation through theory, creative computational methods, and should address implementation challenges.

An account of the award, citation, recipient, and qualifying service shall be published in OR/MS Today.

 Interfaces: Special issue on Humanitarian Applications: Doing Good with Good OR

Read the May-June 2011 special issue of INFORMS Journal on Advanced Analytics (formerly Interfaces) presenting seven papers that address some of the key problems from the humanitarian and public sectors while suggesting potential solutions and approaches.

Application Process

INFORMS is again sponsoring a competition to encourage student research and practice that has societal impact. The "Doing Good with Good OR Student Competition" will feature the most exciting work performed by students in partnership with public and private organizations that yields tangible and beneficial outcomes for individuals, communities, and organizations. Such work will be infused with OR/MS methods and could appeal to multiple disciplinary and application-area interests.

INFORMS must receive completed submissions for this competition by May 15, 2024. The finalists will be announced by early July 2024 and must submit full papers by September 2024. The competition winner will be selected at the 2024 INFORMS Annual Meeting.

Click here for application process

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Aysu Ozel, Northwestern University
2022 First Place
Bonn Kleiford Seranilla, University of Luxembourg
2021 First Place
Lily Xu, Harvard University
2021 Honorable Mention
Rebecca Alcock, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Paul Gölz, Carnegie Mellon University
2021 Runner-Up
Omar Skali Lami, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2020 First Place
Emma Gibson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2020 Honorable Mention
A. Cem Randa, University of California San Francisco and University of California Berkeley
Jean Pauphilet, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2020 Runner-Up
Daniel Duque, Northwestern University
2019 Winner(s)
Somya Singhvi, University of Southern California
2018 Winner(s)
Ignacio Rios, Stanford University
2018 Second Place

Bryan Wilder

Arthur Delarue, Sebastien Martin

2017 First Place
Can Zhang, Georgia Institute of Technology
2017 Second Place
Madeleine Udell
2017 Honorable Mention
Karthik Balasubramanian
2016 First Place
Christine Barnett , University of Michigan Selin Merdan, University of Michigan
2016 Honorable Mention
Ohad Eisenhandler, Tel Aviv University Michal Tzur, Tel Aviv University
2015 First Place
Chenxi Zeng, Georgia Institute of Technology and Amazon Web Services
2015 Second Place
Tong Wang, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2015 Honorable Mention
Sung Keun Baek, Georgia Tech Xiaoyang Li, Georgia Tech Allen Liu, Georgia Tech James Micali, Georgia Tech Jisu J. Park, Georgia Tech Mengnan Shen, Georgia Tech Yunjie Sun, Georgia Tech Emilie Wurmser, Georgia Tech
Tianshu Sun, University of Maryland
2015 Finalist
Kimberly Adelaar, Georgia Tech Charmaine Chan, Georgia Tech Matt Daniels, Georgia Tech Javeria Javeria, Georgia Tech Caleb Mbuvi, Georgia Tech Chu Qian, Georgia Tech Ivan Renaldi, Georgia Tech Jonathan Sutomo, Georgia Tech
Yuanhui Zhang, North Carolina State University
2014 First Place
Eoin O'Mahony, Cornell University
2014 Second Place
Feyza Guliz Sahinyazan, McGill University
Andrew Fox, Northwestern University Tessa Swanson, Northwestern University
2014 Finalist
Yuvraj Singh, Georgia Tech
Hsin-Chan Huang, University of Texas at Austin Bismark Singh, University of Texas at Austin
2013 First Place
Peng Shi, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2013 Second Place
Alvaro Echeverria, Universidad de Chile
2013 Finalist
Armagan Bayram, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Fatemeh S. Hashemi, Virginia Tech
Vincent Slaugh, Carnegie Mellon University
David Morrison, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2012 First Place
Jonathan Helm, Indiana University Health Greggory Schell, University of Michigan
2012 Second Place
Russell Harpring, University of Louisville
2012 Honorable Mention
Amber Kunkel, Rice University Elizabeth Van Itallie, Rice University Duo Wu, Rice University
Mehmet Ayvaci, University of Wisconsin, Madison
2012 Finalist
Alex Mills, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Daphne Sniekers, University of Toronto
2011 First Place
Turgay Ayer, Georgia Institute of Technology
2011 Second Place
Hannah J. Wong, Massachusetts General Hospital
2011 Honorable Mention
Sabina S. Alistar, Stanford University
2011 Finalist
Soroush Saghafian, Harvard University
Kathleen Hendrix, Georgia Institute of Technology
2010 First Place
Jonathan Turner, Northwestern University
2010 Second Place
Rene Alvarenga, Georgia Institute of Technology Dani Slaton, Georgia Institute of Technology Jordan Stone, Georgia Institute of Technology
2010 Honorable Mention
Justin Henriques, University of Virginia
2010 Finalist
Jingyu Zhang, North Carolina State University
Gregory Werker, University of British Columbia
Carleton Coffrin, Brown University
2009 First Place
David Hutton, Stanford University
2009 Honorable Mention
Peter Frazier, Princeton University Diana Negoescu, Princeton University
Faramroze G. Engineer, University of Newcastle
2009 Finalist
Rachel Bullene, Virginia Commonwealth University Toni Sorrell, Virginia Commonwealth University James Springer, Virginia Commonwealth University Charles Stewart, Virginia Commonwealth University Yasser Tanvir, Virginia Commonwealth University
Murat Kurt, University of Pittsburgh