Moving Spirit Award for Chapters

2023 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

The Moving Spirit Award has been established to recognize outstanding geographic chapter volunteers or student chapter faculty advisors who have been "moving spirits" in their chapters.

The award will be signed by the Chapters/Fora Committee Chair. A letter of congratulations, in a form suitable for sending to each recipient's superior, will accompany those awards not delivered in person. The letter of congratulations should be brief but should include the following text, together with the formal citation (if space permits) or a brief explanation of the reason(s) for the award. The certificate will be presented at the national INFORMS meetings. Awards will be shipped to those recipients unable to receive the award at the national meeting.

An account of the award, citation, recipient, and qualifying service shall be published in OR/MS Today.

Nominations Due August 1,2024

Qualifications may be satisfied by a candidate leading efforts either to form a new chapter or to reactivate a dormant chapter; chairing the local organizing committee of a new or reactivated chapter; or through long-term involvement with various chapter activities, and services to the Institute or its predecessor societies on chapter committees and/or as a chapter officer.

Learn more about the application process.

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
K Jo Min, Iowa State University Jose Ramirez, Universidad Galileo
2020 Winner(s)
Vinod Cheriyan
2019 Winner(s)
2018 Winner(s)
2017 Awardee(s)
Dan Steffy James Weber
2015 Awardee(s)
Daniel Reich, Naval Postgraduate School
2014 Awardee(s)
Jennifer Leong, Maryland Chapter
2013 Awardee(s)
Justin Yates, Texas A&M University Student Chapter
2012 Awardee(s)
Ina Markham, James Madison University
Stefan Karisch, The Boeing Company
2011 Awardee(s)
Sila Cetinkaya, Texas A&M University
2010 Awardee(s)
William Carper, University of West Florida Sandra Eksioglu, Mississippi State University
2009 Awardee(s)
Russell Wooten, Department of Homeland Security Jose Zayas-Castro, University of South Florida
2008 Awardee(s)
Hsing Luh, National Cheng Chi University, Dept. of Math Sciences
2007 Awardee(s)
Leon Schwartz, Informed Decisions Group Nastaran Coleman, WINFORMS Chapter Halit Uster, Texas A&M University, Industrial Engineering Dept.
2006 Awardee(s)
Jinho Lim, University of Houston
2005 Awardee(s)
Martha Centeno, Florida International University Anna Nagurney, University of Massachusetts - Amherst, Isenberg School of Management Sanjay Mehrotra, Columbia University, IEOR Dept. Gerald Evans, University of Louisville Susan Werbin, Werbin Associates - Executive Search Inc. Russ Vane, Augmentae Incorporated
2004 Awardee(s)
Ignacy Kaliszewski, Polish Academy of Sciences, Systems Research Institute
2003 Awardee(s)
Allen Holder, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology Donald Bates, Office of the Secretary of Defense
2002 Awardee(s)
Deepak Bammi, Bammi Consultants International John W. Fowler, Arizona State University, Dept. of Industrial Engineering George Polak, Wright State University, ISOM Dept.
2001 Awardee(s)
Cortez "Steve" Stephens
1998 Awardee(s)
Raymond L. Livingston, Jr., Teledyne Brown Engineering Douglas A. Samuelson, InfoLogix
1997 Awardee(s)
Steven L. Van Drew, Army Logistics Management College
1996 Awardee(s)
David F. Rogers, University of Cincinnati, Quantitative Analysis & Operations Management
1995 Awardee(s)
Reuven R. Levary, Saint Louis University, Dept. of Decision Science & MIS
1994 Awardee(s)
Armand B. Weiss, Associations International Inc. G. Jack Theurer, G. Theurer Associates Inc. Maury Schooff Bruce W. Fowler, University of Alabama - Huntsville Frances McNamee, University of California - Berkeley Joel E. Farrand Michael Grant