Impact Prize

2022 - Winner(s)

2022 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

The Impact Prize, awarded once every two years, is intended to recognize widespread impact in the practice of operations research. It may be awarded to an individual or a single set of collaborators. The award may be given for the original research (if these ideas have been widely adopted), and/or for special efforts required to bring the research to a practical form (e.g., implementation as a software package or the communication of a body of research through writings, teaching, and consulting). The important criterion is breadth of use in practice and relevance to operations research. The technical assessment of the quality of the work is considered secondary to the degree to which it has been widely adopted.  

Princeton Consultants

The Impact Award is generously sponsored by Princeton Consultants, Inc.  

This is not a research award. The awards committee is not judging the quality of a body of work. Instead, emphasis will be placed on evaluating the breadth of the impact of an idea or body of research. If the major contribution of the individual or group is bringing an idea to a practice community, the precise nature of this contribution needs to be understood (leading a software company; lectures and writings).

The prize consists of a framed citation and a cash award of $1,000.

Initial Nominations Due April 30, 2024

The nomination should be brief (no more than 2 pdf pages), and should contain the name of the person or set of collaborators responsible for the contribution; a brief summary of the idea or technology that is the basis of the award; a description of the industry or practitioner population that uses the idea; and the nature of the contribution made by the person or group being nominated (creator of the idea or technology).  More space is provided to give greater details on the elements described on the instruction page.

Click here for instructions ┬╗


2024/2025 Committee Chair

Jon Owen
General Motors

Email:  [email protected]

Click here for committee information.

Past Awardees

2022 Winner(s)
Yu Ding, Texas A&M University Jianhua Huang, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen Hoon Hwangbo, University of Tennessee, Knoxville Giwhyun Lee, Korea Army Academy at Yeong-Cheon Abhinav Prakash, Walmart Labs Rui Tuo, Texas A&M University
2020 Winner(s)
David Simchi-Levi, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2018 Awardee(s)

Laura Albert, Kenneth C. Fletcher, Sheldon H. Jacobson, Adrian J. Lee, and Alexander Nikolaev

Laura Albert, University of Wisconsin-Madison Kenneth C. Fletcher, Kestrel Hawk Consulting, Inc Sheldon H. Jacobson, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Adrian Lee, University of Illimois at Urbana-Champaign Alexander Nikolaev, University at Buffalo
2016 Awardee(s)
Peter P. Belobaba, MIT Thomas M. Cook Guillermo Gallego, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Robert L. Phillips, Nomis Solutions, Inc. Barry Smith, Sabre Holdings
Kalyan T. Talluri, Imperial College Business School Garrett J. van Ryzin, Cornell Tech E. Andrew Boyd, University of Houston and Houston Public Media
2014 Winner(s)
Brenda Dietrich, Cornell University JP Fasano, IBM John Forrest, IBM Lou Hafer, Simon Fraser University Brady Hunsaker, Google Laszlo Ladanyi, IBM Robin Lougee, IBM Theodore K. Ralphs, Lehigh University Matthew Saltzman, Clemson University
2010 Winner(s)
Fred Glover
2008 Winner(s)
Dr. Thomas L. Saaty
2004 Awardee(s)
Fred W. Glover, OptTek Systems, Inc.