George B. Dantzig Dissertation Award

2023 - Winner(s)

2023 Winner(s)

Winning material: Experimental Design and Decision-Making in Marketplace Platforms

Purpose of the Award

2023 Committee Co-Chairs

Ruth Beer

City University of New York (CUNY)

Click here for committee information

The George B. Dantzig Award is given for the best dissertation in any area of operations research and the management sciences that is innovative and relevant to practice. This award has been established to encourage academic research that combines theory and practice and stimulates greater interaction between doctoral students (and their advisors) and the world of practice. The award is given at the INFORMS Annual Meeting.                 

Application Process

The deadline to submit 2024 applications is June 30, 2024. Click below to view more information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines

Learn more about the application process

Click here to begin submission

About the Award/Namesake

George Dantzig

George Dantzig

The son of a mathematician, George Bernard Dantzig was born in Portland, Oregon on November 8, 1914. His father, Tobias Dantzig, had been born in Latvia but, after being caught distributing anti-Tsarist propaganda, fled to Paris, where he studied under Henri Poincaré and met Anja Ourisson, then at the Sorbonne....

Learn more about George B. Dantzig

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Hannah Li , Columbia Business School
2023 Honorable Mention
Xiao Lei , Department of Industrial Engineering and Operations Research, Columbia University
Paul Goelz, Carnegie Mellon University
Antonio Castellanos, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
Sean Sinclair, Cornell University
2022 First Place
Su Jia, Carnegie Mellon University
2022 Honorable Mention
Anish Agarwal, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Daniel Rehfeldt, Technische Universitat Berlin Ruihao Zhu, Purdue University
2021 First Place
Somya Singhvi, University of Southern California
2021 Second Place
Dennis Shen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2021 Honorable Mention
Katherine Bobroske, University of Cambridge
Carlos Fernández, New York University
Scott Rodilitz, Yale School of Management
2020 First Place
Nikhil Garg, Stanford University
2020 Honorable Mention
Gal Mendelson, Technion
Jean Pauphilet, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2019 Winner(s)
Sebastien Martin, MIT Operations Research Center
2018 Awardee(s)
Daniel Freund, Cornell University
2017 First Place
Negin Golrezaei
2017 Second Place
Ian Osband, Stanford University
2017 Honorable Mention
Mehdi Behroozi, University of Minnesota Álvaro Lorca Rong Yuan, MIT
2016 First Place
Eoin O'Mahony, Cornell University
2016 Second Place
Pooyan Kazemian, University of Michigan – Ann Arbor
2016 Honorable Mention
Nathaniel D. Bastian, The Pennsylvania State University Tugce Martagan, Eindhoven University of Technology Vamsi Kanuri, University of Miami
2015 First Place
Alexandre Jacquillat, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2015 Finalist
Daniela Saban, Stanford University
Yuanhui Zhang, North Carolina State University
2014 First Place
Santiago Balseiro, Columbia University
2014 Honorable Mention
Anahita Khojandi, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
2014 Finalist
Robert Hammond, University of Texas at Austin
Major Jesse Pietz, United States Air Force Academy
2013 First Place
Jason Acimovic, Penn State University
2013 Finalist
Jagdish Ramakrishnan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Samah El-Tantawy, University of Toronto
2012 First Place
Mazhar Arikan, Purdue University
2012 Second Place
Andrei Neboian, WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management
2012 Third Place
Nikolaos K. Trichakis, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2011 First Place
John Turner, University of California, Irvine
2011 Second Place
Timothy Carnes, Massachusetts Inctitute of Technology
Xu Andy Sun, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
2010 First Place
Minsun Kim, University of Washington
2010 Honorable Mention
Steffen Rebennack, Colorado School of Mines
Mariel Lavieri, University of Michigan
Lolke Schakel, University of Groningen
2009 First Place
Nitin Bakshi, London Business School
2009 Second Place
Jagpreet Chhatwal, Merck Research Laboratories
2009 Honorable Mention
Emmanuel Carrier
Evren Özkaya, McKinsey & Company
2008 First Place
Sang-Hyun Kim, University of Pennsylvania
2008 Second Place
Tobias Achterberg, Zuse Institute Berlin, Germany
Sam K. Hui, Georgia Institute of Technology
2008 Honorable Mention
Kyungduck Cha, Georgia Institute of Technology
Pelin Pekgun, University of South Carolina
2007 First Place
Timothy Chan, University of Toronto
2007 Second Place
Pallav Sarma, Stanford University
2007 Honorable Mention
Andreea Popescu, Georgia Institute of Technology
2007 Finalist
Shawndra Hill, University of Pennsylvania
Ioannis Gamvros, The Robert H. Smith School of Business, University of Maryland
Shih-Fen Cheng, University of Michigan
2006 First Place
A. Kevin Tang, Cornell University
2006 Second Place
Melda Ormeci, Ozyegin University
2006 Honorable Mention
Ching-Hua Chen-Ritzo, IBM TJ Watson Research Center
Nan Kong, Purdue University, Biomedical Engineering
Tao Yao, Penn State University
2005 First Place
Robert W. Day, University of Connecticut
Devavrat Shah, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2005 Honorable Mention
Oguzhan Alagoz, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Susan Budge, University of Alberta
Daniel Quadt, Catholic University of Eichstaett-Ingolstadt
2004 First Place
Jeffrey Ohlmann, University of Iowa, Henry B. Tippie College of Business & Management Science
2004 Honorable Mention
Valdo Durrleman, Stanford University
Xuanming Su, University of California - Berkeley, Haas School of Business
Berkin Toktas, T-Mobile USA
Rodney Wallace, George Washington University
2003 First Place
Paat Rusmevichientong, Cornell University
2003 Honorable Mention
Martin Durbin, Decisive Analytics Corporation
Z. Justin Ren, Boston University
Milind Sohoni, Indian School of Business
Matthew S. Thompson, University of Western Ontario
2002 First Place
Daniela Pucci de Farias, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2002 Honorable Mention
Juta Pichitlamken, Kasetsart University, Dept. of Industrial Engineering
John Sniezek, RouteSmart Technologies
Julie L. Swann, Georgia Institute of Technology, School of Industrial & Systems Engineering
2001 First Place
Andrew Armacost, United States Air Force Academy
2001 Second Place
Stylianos Kavadias, Georgia Institute of Technology
2001 Honorable Mention
Vishal Gaur, Cornell University, The Johnson School
Brian Nathanson, OptiStatim LLC
2000 First Place
Shabbir Ahmed, Georgia Institute of Technology
2000 Second Place
Prashant Fuloria, Stanford University
2000 Honorable Mention
Vinayak Deshpande, Kenan-Flagler Business School, The University of North Carolina
Terry Taylor , University of California - Berkeley
Kirk Yost, Mitre Corporation
1999 First Place
Justin Boesel, Northwestern University
1999 Honorable Mention
William D. Hall, CitationShares
Mark E. Lewis, Cornell University
1998 First Place
Daniel Adelman, University of Chicago
1998 Second Place
Yunzeng Wang, University of California - Riverside
1998 Honorable Mention
Steven F. Baker, US Air Force Academy
1997 First Place
Alberto Caprara, DEIS - University of Bologna
1997 Second Place
Sarah Stock Patterson, Duke University
1997 Honorable Mention
Stefanos A. Zenios, Stanford University
Jayashankar M. Swaminathan, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
1996 First Place
S. Raghavan, University of Maryland, Robert H Smith School of Business
1996 Second Place
Arthur C. Hsu, United Technologies Research Center
1996 Honorable Mention
Geoffrey C. Murray, A.T. Kearney Inc.
1995 First Place
David Lowell, Castilleja School
1995 Second Place
Karlos Artto
1995 Honorable Mention
Venkatesh Ravirala, Neeroh LLC
1994 First Place
Raymond Cheung, Hong Kong University
1994 Second Place
Jenny Ming Chen
1994 Honorable Mention
Shannon Anderson, Rice University
David P. Morton, Stanford University