Judith Liebman Award

2023 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

Nominations should be submitted to:

Chelsea Teimoori
5521 Research Park Drive, Suite 200
Catonsville, MD 21228 U.S.A.
e-mail: [email protected]

Electronic submissions are encouraged

The Judith Liebman Award has been established to recognize outstanding student volunteers who have been "moving spirits" in their universities, their student chapters, and the Institute. The award will be an 11x8 mounted certificate signed by the Vice President for Chapters/Student Chapters and Forums, and a letter of congratulations, in a form suitable for sending to each recipient's department chair.

Nominations Due August 1, 2024

A candidate for the Judith Liebman Award must have been a "moving spirit" in his or her student chapter, leading efforts either to form a new student chapter or to reactivate a dormant chapter; leading a student chapter to perform extraordinary service to the Institute or to its University; or through vigorous involvement with various student chapter activities, and services to the Institute on chapter committees and/or as a chapter officer.

Learn more about the application process »

About the Award/Namesake

Liebman Presidential Gallery Portrait

Dr. Liebman served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Operations Research Society of America for eleven years, where she was secretary, vice president, president and past president. During that time she chaired the committee that established the first Doctoral Colloquium, as well as the Technical Sections Committee and the Long Range Planning Committee. She also served the Society as ORSA visiting Lecturer, chair of the Health Applications Section, and chair of the ORSA/TIMS Visiting Lecturer Committee. She was Omega Rho Distinguished Lecturer in 2003 at Atlanta.

Learn more about Judith Liebman

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Durant Fullington, Mississippi State University Madison Evans, Auburn University
2022 Winner(s)
Lauren L. Czerniak, University of Michigan Christian Zamiela, Mississippi State University Sajjad Amrollahi Biyouki, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
2021 Winner(s)
Kayla Cummings, Pomona College (Undergrad)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Maryam Daryalal, University of Toronto Andrew ElHabr , Georgia Institute of Technology
2020 Winner(s)
Hyame Alameddine, Concordia University Sebastian Barriga, Pontificia Universidad Catholica de Chile Wesley J. Marrero, Harvard Medical School
2019 Winner(s)
Andrew Chung Chee Law , Virginia Tech Brittany Segundo , Texas A&M University Anna Svirsko, University of Pittsburgh
2018 Winner(s)
Neda Mirzaeian , University of Texas at Dallas, Naveen Jindal (PhD from Carnegie Mellon University, Tepper)
Lauren Steimle, University of Michigan – Ann Arbor
Carlos Zetina , Concordia University
2016 Awardee(s)
Deepak Agrawal
Victor Wu, University of Michigan Student Chapter
Thiago Serra, Carnegie Mellon University
2015 Awardee(s)
Eghbal Rashidi, Mississippi State University Student Chapter
Michael Prokle, University of Massachusetts
Kayse Maass, University of Michigan Student Chapter
2014 Awardee(s)
Michelle McGaha Alvarado, Texas A&M University Student Chapter
Ruixue Guo, Stanford University Student Chapter
Kimia Ghobadi, University of Toronto Student Chapter
2013 Awardee(s)
Monica Puertas, University of South Florida Student Chapter
Amir H. Masoumi, University of Massachusetts Student Chapter
John Coles, Texas A&M University Student Chapter
2012 Awardee(s)
Shrikant Jarugumilli
Cameron MacKenzie, Iowa State University
2011 Awardee(s)
Changqing Cheng, Oklahoma State University
Laila Cure, University of South Florida
Anurag Verma, Texas A&M University
2010 Awardee(s)
Ambarish Acharya, Mississippi State University Kory Hedman, University of California-Berkeley Hoda Parvin, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
2009 Awardee(s)
Qiang "Patrick" Qiang, University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Wilkistar Otieno, University of South Florida
Panitan Kewcharoenwong, Texas A&M University
2008 Awardee(s)
Homarjun Agrahari, BNSF Railway, Service Design & Performance Ankur Jain, Purdue University Vishnuteja Nanduri, University of South Florida
2007 Awardee(s)
Wei-Chih Chiang, Louisiana Tech University, School of Accountancy Bilal Gokpinar, Northwestern University, Industrial Engineering & Management Science
2006 Awardee(s)
Burcu B. Keskin, University of Alabama Tina Wakolbinger, University of Memphis, Dept. of Marketing & Supply Chain
2005 Awardee(s)
Anita Patel, George Washington University Student Chapter
2004 Awardee(s)
Michele Pfund, Arizona State University Student Chapter Deepak Rajan, IBM TJ Watson Research Center Anne Robinson, Cisco